Pictures of People

When I read other blogs – especially travel blogs – I’m always fascinated by images travelers/photographers take of people from the areas they are traveling in.  The images are just as powerful, if not more powerful in some instances, as the greatest landscape photographs.  These portraits tell a story about the place and its people as much as other kinds of photos.  And because we are looking at images of other human beings, we can have a very strong emotional response to them.

Usually I don’t consciously focus on taking photos of other people when I travel.  I seem interested in capturing and relaying the sense of place through landscape-type photography.  Additionally, I am hesitant to invade someone’s personal space. But after marveling over portraits from other travel photographers I decided to revisit my recent photo albums to see what kind of inventory I have of photos of people from my travels.  I put together a gallery of some favorites.

102_2_2
Lovers of the Malecon
221_20
Mother and son out for a stroll
224_23
Like father, like son
DSC_0080
Women of the Topkapi Palace, Istanbul
DSCN0402
Maidens of Mexico
__7_1793
Little Entrepreneur at the Market
_2A_1717
Papantla, Young and Old, Mexico
13A_0291
Voices of Orizaba, Mexico
DSC_0086
Portrait of a Portrait on the Bosphorus
IMG_0174
The Donaldson Boys! (my son with my brother in the middle of Lake St. Claire)
DSC_0058
Jamie Donaldson of Edinburgh, Scotland (a distant cousin?)
DSC_0062
The Royal Couple of Edinburgh
DSC_0847
Street Merchant of Granada, Nicaragua
DSC_0889
Tom Bredesen, an excellent travel photographer
DSC_0423
Three Brothers from Glasgow
Bagpipe player for The Spinning Blowfish
Bagpipe Player for the Spinning Blowfish
3 comments on “Pictures of People

    • Eggs and beer it is! And with just a bit of Mexican hot sauce on the eggs! Now we just need to figure out how to span the miles. We are well. I sincerely hope the same for you and your family. It would be great if we could all get together sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

