Mystical Mexico

To kick off a section on Mexico, here is one of my favorite photographs. Sunday morning mass inside the historic Catedral de la Asunción in Papantla, Mexico – one of the most mysterious and beautiful cities along the Vanilla route in the state of Veracruz.  Not wanting to disrespect the locals who were attending mass around me, I took this photo with my Nikon Coolpix pocket camera (flash turned off) held close to my chest instead of dragging out the larger Nikon D-80.  By just looking at this photo I am transported back to my spot in the pew; the heavy scent of incense mixed with the sweet aroma of vanilla swirling through the large wooden doors standing open to the street makes me dizzy even today.

Click on the image to view in larger format.

“Heaven Let Your Light Shine Down” La Catedral de la Asunción, Papantla, Mexico
3 comments on “Mystical Mexico

    • Thanks for you comment! I’m glad you like this photo. Whenever I’m in Mexico, I love visiting the Cathedrals. It is especially interesting to attend mass. There’ll be more images to come that I hope you enjoy. Thanks again!

  1. Gary, I treasure your art. I can’t thank you enough for sharing your paintings and your photoigraphy. I do treasure your friendship also.

Leave a Reply

